Ridin’ In My Car: One Sentence Reviews

I have a brand new rotation of CD’s in my car stereo. During the past week I’ve logged enough time with them to give you a completely tossed-off one sentence review–but given our accelerated culture, does anyone really expect anything better these days?

Neil Young & The International Harvesters, “A Treasure”
Geffen Records sued Neil Young for this amazing country twang, performed live with a hot-shit band?”

Sir Douglas Quintet, “The Mono Singles” Don’t listen to this collection unless you love a rockin’ mix of rock, country, psychedelia and tex/mex roots–served up with a dollop of laid back hippie idealism.

Tedeschi Trucks Band, “Revelator” This is a win/win album that showcases the blues rock chops of husband and wife AND allows them to keep their family together despite endless days on the road.

Fleet Foxes, “Hopelessness Blues” The album has the same pretty harmonies as their debut–but it’s not so damn ethereal.

Raphael Saadiq, “The Way I See It” The Sound Of Young America updated for today.

2 thoughts on “Ridin’ In My Car: One Sentence Reviews

  1. Interesting stuff, though it’s a bit too, well, I’m not sure what to say except it’s not my style. Then again, while I’m in the car I’m only listening to books on tape, with an occasional change to either Donna Summer or Michael Jackson. Yeah, that’s how I roll.

    Like

  2. Mitch:

    I really think you should give Raphael Saadiq a listen. He was the bass player in Tony, Toni, Tone–and this album in particular is an attempt to update classic Motown!

    Like

Leave a Reply

