Ridin’ the rails . . . with my iPod by my side.

I took an Amtrak train from Albany to Syracuse the other day–my first train ride in several years, certainly the first since a lot of social media arrived and made waiting rooms and train cars less of a monotonous slog and more of a lounge with music and movies. I saw a father teaching his young daughter to play guitar–he with an instrument, she with a laptop. I saw many folks watching movies. I had my iPod and since my cellphone isn’t a smart phone and I couldn’t put this out on twitter, I texted a bunch of friends and asked them for suggestions on songs related to train travel that conceivably may be part of my 10,000+ song library.

The result was this play list for my trip home:

“Land of Hope & Dreams”–Bruce Springsteen
“Big wheels roll through fields/ Where sunlight streams/ Meet me in a land of hope and dreams”

“5:15”–The Who
“out of my brain on the train.”

“All The Way From Memphis”–Mott The Hoople
“Well I rang the information – my axe was cold/ They said she rides the train to Oreoles”

“Freight Train Blues”–Bob Dylan
“I was born in Dixie in a boomer shed/ Just a little shanty by the railroad track
Freight train was it taught me how to cry/ The holler of the driver was my lullaby”

“Train Kept A Rollin'”–Aerosmith
“train kept a-rollin’ all night long”

“She Caught The Katy”–Taj Mahal
“My baby caught the Katy, left me a mule to ride/ The train polled out, and I swung on behind
I’m crazy ’bout her, that hardheaded woman of mine”

“Stop That Train”–Bob Marley & The Wailers
“stop that train, I’m leavin'”:

“Monkey & The Engineer”–Grateful Dead
“Big locomotive right on time/ big locomotive coming down the line./
Big locomotive no. 99/ left the engineer with a worried mind.”

“California Zephyr”–Hank Williams, Sr.
“In the distance hear her moanin’/ hear her lonesome whistle scream/ It’s the California Zephyr/ The Union Pacific Queen.”

“Smokestack Lightning”–Howlin’ Wolf
“Ah, oh, smokestack lightning/ Shinin’, just like gold
Why don’t ya hear me cryin’?/ Ah, whoo hoo, ooh… Whoo…”

“Night Train”–James Brown
“Oh, yeah, night train/ Night train, night train/ Night Train, carry me home…”

“Orange Blossom Special”–Johnny Cash
“Hey, look a-yonder comin’/ Comin’ down that railroad track
It’s the Orange Blossom Special/ Bringin’ my baby back”

Leave a Reply

