Cute Internet Quiz or Head Cold?

I’m sure you’ve all seen those cute quizzes that pop up all over the interwebz. They pair things together in a format that makes things that are wildly different seem quite similar. The classic is Jam Band Fan or Taliban? Look at the cropped photo of the dude in the beard, make your guess, click the full frame view and see if you’re looking at Bonnaroo or Baghdad.

A recent favorite of mine is a quiz from the online site of the great lefty muckrakers Mother Jones: attempt to determine from either statements, quotations or descriptions of particularly outrageous activities whether the person is either a gun-and-gold-loving, tax-hating libertarian or a gun-and-gold-loving, tax-hating rap star?

I mention this because I’m currently fighting off a hellacious head cold/sore throat. About the only thing I have the energy to do is lay on the couch and listen to my iPod. Up popped a familiar song, a classic, and the question instantly formed in my hot tea and honey/Robitussin addled mind:

Recreational Drugs or Head Cold?

Purple haze all in my brain
Lately things just don’t seem the same
Actin’ funny, but I don’t know why
‘Scuse me while I kiss the sky

Purple haze all around
Don’t know if I’m comin’ up or down
Am I happy or in misery?
Whatever it is, that girl put a spell on me

Help me help me
Oh no no… no

Yeah
Purple haze all in my eyes
Don’t know if it’s day or night
You’ve got me blowin, blowin my mind
Is it tomorrow or just the end of time?

No, help me aw yeah! oh no no oh help me…

From the mound of used Kleenex around my couch and the line “you’ve got me blowin’, blowin’ my mind” I vote Head Cold!

One thought on “Cute Internet Quiz or Head Cold?

Leave a Reply

