American Music For Independence Day

ed: meant to post this on the Fourth–but I was too busy grilling, swimming and just generally goofing off.

I’ve given up “spinning the black plastic” as Pearl Jam urged us to do awhile ago, but I’m still too much of a baby boomer to download my music. I still buy CD’s from an honest to goodness record store, the peerless Sound Garden in Armory Square.

I’m not totally technologically backward, I do have to rip my CD’s into mp3 files and put them on my computer’s iTunes and from there onto my iPod. I also still make mixtapes–although they’re on discs.

My favorite recent mix is a representation of the music referenced in the lyrics of the Blaster’s song “American Music” :

Well, a U.S. soldier boy on leave in West-Berlin
No music there that rocks, just a thousand violins
They wanna hear some American music, American music
They wanna hear that sound right from the U.S.A.

Well, it can be sweet and lovely (Sha La La– Al Green),
it can be hard and mean (Down On The Street –The Stooges)
One thing’s for sure, it’s always on the beam
They wanna hear some American music, American music
They wanna hear that sound right from the U.S.A.

It’s a howl from the desert (La Pistola y El Corazon–Los Lobos)
a scream from the slums (Inner City Blues– Dirty Dozen Brass Band)
The Mississippi rollin’ to the beat of the drums (I Want Candy–The Strangeloves)
They wanna hear some American music
They wanna hear that sound right from the U.S.A.

We got the Louisiana boogie (Huey Smith Medley–Dr. John)
and the delta blues (Cross Road Blues–Robert Johnson)
We got country swing (My Oklahoma Home–Bruce Springsteen With The Sessions Band) and rockabilly, too (Rockin’ Dadddy–The LeRoi Brothers)
We got jazz (Stars Fell On Alabama–Billie Holiday)
country-western (Close Up The Honky Tonks–Dwight Yoakam)
and Chicago blues (Hoochie Coochie Man–Muddy Waters)
It’s the greatest music that you ever knew
It’s American music, it’s American music, it’s American music
It’s the greatest sound right from the U.S.A.

Leave a Reply

