Oh Yeah, I’ve Been There . . .

Carrie Brownstein writes the Monitor Mix blog on NPR and her most recent post is on a subject near to my heart–when you’re a music nerd, you assume everyone is a music nerd.

Of course, everyone knows that Carrie was a driving force behind the band Sleater-Kinney, right? If not, go pick up their album The Woods so we can discuss how they fused punk and classic rock and then quit at the height of their powers. We’ll wait . . .

OK, now that everyone is back, I will admit that her blog is one of my favorites and always seems to illuminate things that matter to music geeks (or as my college roommates used to refer to our collective–the Music Police.)

Her discussion on how she assumed EVERYONE knew “I Wanna Be Your Dog” by the Stooges and would pee in their pants at her over-the-top karaoke performance of same is laugh out loud funny–yet also perfectly understandable. My most recent experience of this phenomenon happened a couple of years ago at the holiday party thrown by my wife’s employer.

It was the year of Outkast’s “Hey Ya”, so I figured I’d get a chance to dance to a song I actually liked. My wife liked the idea ’cause she likes to dance and I rarely do so. Not so fast. The DJ said he wasn’t planning on playing the song, but did so because of our constant whining and my assurances that it’s the most popular song in the country–everyone will love it!

Suffice it to say that the moment he slapped on the country’s most popular jam, the dance floor emptied to me, my wife and one other couple. And it wasn’t just a fluke. Immediately after we finished “shakin’ it like a Polaroid picture.” the DJ slapped on the Electric Slide and re-filled the dance floor.

Leave a Reply

