Working On A Tour, Part 2: A Bruce Pop Concert

In the comments section of my prior post, I mentioned that if Bruce really wanted to showcase this new album, the bulk of which is romantic pop songs, he should put together a different kind of show–a pop concert rather than a rock show.

Here’s my stab at what that set list might look like:

My Lucky Day (WOAD)
Outlaw Pete (WOAD)
Pink Cadillac (Tracks)
Local Hero (Lucky Town)
Working On A Dream (WOAD)
Hungry Heart (The River)
The Fever (Tracks)
What Love Can Do (WOAD)
Tunnel of Love (Tunnel of Love)
All That Heaven Will Allow (Tunnel of Love)
Sherry Darling (The River)
Kingdom of Days (WOAD)
Two Hearts (The River)
Tomorrow Never Knows (WOAD)
Spirit In The Night (Greetings)
Girls In Their Summer Clothes (Magic)
Out In The Street (The River)
Give The Girl A Kiss (Tracks)
I’m On Fire (Born In the USA)
My Love Will Not Let You Down (Live In NYC)
Tenth Ave. Freezeout (Born To Run)
*******(Encore)
Growin’ Up (Greetings)
Born To Run (Born To Run)
The Wrestler (WOAD)
Waitin’ On A Sunny Day (The Rising)
Rosalita (E. Street Shuffle)

This gives you 7 songs off of the current album, not the 11 he was playing off Magic on his last tour, but still better than the anemic 3 he’s doing on this tour. If Bruce doesn’t want to end up like the Rolling (we only play our greatest hits on tour) Stones, he’s got to shake it up.

That being said, I repeat here what I said in one of my comments on the prior post: I’d go see a show of Bruce reading from the phone book.

Leave a Reply

