Tonight!

I’m sitting at work, but I’m not going to be able to get anything much of substance done today. In a few hours I’ll be jumping on Thunder Road and going to Albany to case the Promised Land. Bruce in a little over 10 hours.

This will be my 7th Bruce show. I know there are many folks out there who go to more shows than that on a single tour, and I guess I am a little jealous. But there’s something special about seeing just one show per tour. I remember every show and everything about every show. And the greatest thing about Bruce is his dedication to the shows–he and the band never seem to have an off night. They never phone it in. So the show you go to will be great, no doubts.

I’ve done my traditional preparation for the concert. For the past week I’ve had the several live Bruce CD’s in heavy rotation in the car and the iPod has been regaling me with a huge “Bruce Juice” playlist of all my favorite Bruce songs (and the list of faves currently tops out at 86 tunes.)

Today I enter radio silence, listening to anything but Bruce. The next Bruce I hear will be the man himself. (The parking lots complicate this as they are usually blasting Bruce–but I’m not one to hang around much before a show.)

An interesting story developing on this tour–the band has been taking requests from the fans in the form of homemade signs for special songs since last years’ tour. But lately, they have been picking one song, usually a classic, that they’ve never played in public before.
The E Streeters have banged out songs such as the Ramones’ “I Wanna Be Sedated,” the Who’s “My Generation,” the Rascals’ “Good Lovin’,” the Kingsmen’s “Louie Louie,” the Soul Survivors’ “Expressway to Your Heart,” Willie Dixon’s “Seventh Son,” and ? and the Mysterians’ “96 Tears.” What’s in store for Albany? If I was close enough to get a sign up on stage, I’d go for “Cool Jerk” by the Capitols.

Leave a Reply

