Learning To Take A Punch

Well, I didn’t see this one coming. I wrote up a position paper on a current topic under debate in Albany that will have an impact on our neighborhoods. Not a huge deal, my organization planned to release the statement to the media and ship it off to our representatives in the Senate and Assembly, and then call it a day.

My organization has worked on this issue in a related way for several years, so I figure this will not be too controversial. I spend about two hours of my time doing a little internet research and drafting the one page statement. All policy statements such as this need to be approved by our Board of Directors. I give it to our director in time for last night’s meeting, expecting to do a little work on the approved edition this morning.

It was voted down, apparently overwhelmingly. I’m stunned. The position of the Board on this issue is wrong, and it’s going to come back to bite our neighborhood in the ass.

That’s grassroots democracy for you. A messy thing. But that’s what I signed on for–to empower people to make their own decisions. Even if they are what I believe to be wrong. Very wrong.

Hard to get happy after this one.

3 thoughts on “Learning To Take A Punch

  1. Pingback: Twenty Years Ago . . . | Still Racing In The Street

Leave a Reply

