My College Years Rocked!

Mark Bialczak, over at the Listen Up blog, asks folks to take a trip down memory lane and remember the music they listened to in college, asking if it still brings a light to their eyes, as do his musical discoveries from that era.

Hell, yeah. I went to college in Philly in the late 1970’s/early 1980’s–what a time to rock. I discovered reggae (Bob Marley, Steel Pulse, Peter Tosh) and punk (The Clash, Sex Pistols, Ramones, Patti Smith) while I should have been studying. In fact, I saw all of these acts live in Philly, with the exception of the Pistols and Bob Marley.

The Bob Marley concert is still my greatest disappointment. He played right down the street from my dorm, but I passed because of an exam the next day. Do I even remember what course the exam was for? I sure as hell would remember the Marley concert.

I also got sucked into some of the early indie rock (REM, the dB’s) New Wave (Elvis Costello), Second wave ska (Madness, English Beat, The Specials) and, of course, the Jersey Shore sounds of Bruce, Southside Johnny etc.

Hard rock was from high school, the blues and alt.country was post-grad. All of it still makes me “say yeah!”

2 thoughts on “My College Years Rocked!

  1. Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go I wanna be sedated
    Nothin’ to do and no where to go-o-oh I wanna be sedated
    Just get me to the airport put me on a plane
    Hurry hurry hurry before I go insane
    I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my brain
    Oh no no no no no
    Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go….
    Just put me in a wheelchair, get me on a plane
    Hurry hurry hurry before I go insane
    I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my brain
    Oh no no no no no
    Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go I wanna be sedated
    Nothin’ to do and no where to go-o-o I wanna be sedated
    Just put me in a wheelchair get me to the show
    Hurry hurry hurry before I go loco
    I can’t control my fingers I can’t control my toes
    Oh no no no no no
    Twenty-twenty-twenty four hours to go…
    Just put me in a wheelchair…
    Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
    Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
    Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated
    Ba-ba-bamp-ba ba-ba-ba-bamp-ba I wanna be sedated

    loved that. a dance era where if you could bounce and vibrate, you could dance. loved elvis c. (‘miracle man’ a personal favorite); saw him do an angry 45 or 50 minute show at shea’s buffalo, no encore, still awesome. liked nick lowe’s ‘i love the sound of breaking glass.’ how about patty smith? gloria, rock’n’roll … (everybody’s screaming to that one). the clash was just coming. i’d say late 1978 to late 1980 were the prime dance years for me: by early 1981, i had a whisper in the back of my head that the real world was like coming like a freight train.

    sean

    Like

  2. I would have loved to see that Costello show, he played my Freshman year at a small theatre in Philly but tickets went in a heartbeat.

    Real life didn’t intrude for me until 1984 when I quit law school and I was unemployed. That train caught up to me real quick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

