The Inaugural, As Viewed From My Couch

Favorite moments:

At the We Are One concert, Bruce redeeming his horrendous version of “The Rising” with a soul stirring duet of “This Land Is Your Land” with Pete Seeger and they sang ALL the lyrics, including the radical last stanzas:

“In the squares of the city – By the shadow of the steeple
By the relief office – I saw my people
As they stood there hungry, I stood there wonderin
If this land’s still made for you and me.”

Chorus [this land is my land…]

“There was a big high wall there – that tried to stop me;
Sign was painted – it said private property;
But on the other side – it didn’t say nothing;
That side was made for you and me.”

Chorus [this land is my land…]

“Nobody living can ever stop me,
As I go walking – that freedom highway;
Nobody living can ever make me turn back
This land was made for you and me.”

Rev. Joseph Lowery’s amazing benediction: spiritual, populist, humorous and moving.

Obama, entering onto the Capitol podium, stopping to embrace and acknowledge Rep. John Lewis, a man who withstood the beatings of police during the first Selma to Montgomery march and rose to the House of Representatives.

Bob Schieffer on CBS wondering why Presidents even run for a second term since everything important is done in the first year of the first term and the second term “is when everyone goes to prison.”

David Brooks and Mark Shields on PBS who simultaneously remarked upon ex-Vice President Dick Cheney’s strained back from picking up boxes he was moving: “must be government secrets” and both LAUGHING at Cheney.

Leave a Reply

