Led Zeppelin: “Enormous, Nasty, Glorious.”

So I’ve been paying more attention to Led Zeppelin lately, a band I never got into during my youth: I had blamed them for heavy metal. My loss. Oh well, I’ve been listening to my only Zep album in my car, a pre-recorded cassette of Houses Of The Holy and planning out which other Zep albums I should buy. For ballast, I sometimes switch over to the Robert Plant/ Allison Krauss CD “Raising Sand.”

“enormous, nasty, glorious.” That’s how the NY Times described Jimmy Page’s guitar during the recent Led Zeppelin reunion show in London. The “Lemon Squeezings” blog has bunches of posts, photos and and YouTube clips on the concert.

Another Zeppelin related gem courtesy of the Professor of Pop blog:
a mash-up by DJ Zebra of the White Stripes and Zep called “Icky Thump, Whole Lotta Funk.” I go and play the tune off the blog every day. I hope I can figure out how to get it into my iTunes library. Just goes to show you–even aging boomers can get into mash-ups and downloads.

One thought on “Led Zeppelin: “Enormous, Nasty, Glorious.”

Leave a Reply

