Still Reading In The Street

I have always been a reader. Going with with my mom (a voracious reader) to the library on summer days is one of the fondest memories of my childhood. I was the kid that snuck the flashlight under the covers so I could read after lights out.

Something has happened, I’m struck by how little I read for pleasure these days. I read a lot at work, but my time is spent on organizations’ web sites, academic articles and governmental reports. I spend time on the web at home too, on this site and other blogs and such. I can spend an entire evening on Wikipedia following up on old rock bands.

I have been successful at reducing my intake of mindless TV shows, but that added time has been taken up by household chores and actual human interaction with my family. I need to somehow find a way to dedicate some time to the growing stack of books that I have accumulated and not found the time to get around to reading.

Call this the “Still Reading In The Street” project. The following 20 books have been sitting around for longer than I care to admit. Over the next 6 months my goal is to read each book and then post a short review of the book. My tastes run toward non-fiction, but there are a couple of serious fiction works in there.

“The 9/11 Commission Report” Authorized Edition
“The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay” Michael Chabon
“The Audacity of Hope” Barack Obama
“Becoming Justice Blackmun” Linda Greenhouse
“Building A Bridge To The 18th Century” Neil Postman
“Common Ground” J. Anthony Lukas
“The Corrections” Jonathan Franzen
“Fast Food Nation” Eric Schlosser
“The Fortress Of Solitude” Jonathan Lethem
“The Hidden Life Of Dogs” Elizabeth Marshall Thomas
“Marx For Beginners” Rius
“Mind Game” editors of Baseball Prospectus
“Perfectly Legal” David Cay Johnston
“A Problem From Hell” Samantha Power
“Reading Lolita In Tehran” Azar Nafisi
“The Road To Wigan Pier” George Orwell
“Tales Of the Tatras” K.P.Tetmajer
“Three Men In A Room” Seymour Lachman
“The Tipping Point” Malcolm Gladwell
“What Are People For?” Wendell Berry

Leave a Reply

