Change We Can Believe In, Just Not Soon Enough

This summer, I noticed a couple of interesting bootleg Obama t-shirts being sold by a guy in the parking lot down the street from our office. I stopped by to check them out and they were even large enough to fit me! So I ordered one up and the guy behind the folding table said he’d sell one to me, even though I was a Red Sox fan. My omnipresent Sox cap had given me away, but we had a nice discussion on why the Yankees suck so bad and whose fans were nastier to each other.

I love my Obama t-shirt and planned to wear it on Tuesday night while watching election returns and hopefully Wednesday too (to celebrate what seems to be building up to an Obama victory.) It will be a little bit bittersweet though. The guy who sold me the shirt was shot and killed on Wednesday night, inside the vacant house that he used to store his merchandise, mostly clothes.

The story is just another of the sad ones that pile up like cord wood in our neighborhood, this one just happens to intersect with me in a tiny way. I read in the paper that Nathaniel Jamison was my age and realized that many years ago both my wife and I used to work in the same insurance company with his ex-wife.

And he sold me my Obama t-shirt that I love. The one about hope. Damn.

4 thoughts on “Change We Can Believe In, Just Not Soon Enough

  1. sean

    I guess it’s one of those things
    You can never explain
    Like when an angel cries
    Like runaway trains

    Like one of those times
    Thats never the same
    Like when something dies
    Like runaway trains …

    0 Tom Petty

    Reply
  2. Pingback: NYCO’s Blog » Other people's blogs

  3. Giaconda Branch

    This really was a very bad situation, teenagers killing one another, getting their hands on gun very sad situation. A change need to be make right here in Syracuse, we really need to find ways to really help the youth of today, they are really calling out for our help. God help them but we can help also. Yes we talk about change and Obama what about a change right here in Syracuse. My heart goes out to all the individuals Nathaniel which I knew well, and certainly the teenagers mercy.

    Reply
  4. Mitch

    Man, this type of nonsense has to stop. I’m sorry, but the “don’t tell the police nothin’” kind of mentality has to be overcome one day so that violence in the city can decrease, because these folks taking care of it on their own are just causing more problems. Sad story indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

